The Royal Army Medical Corps
And the Malta Garrison

The Malta Garrison – 1968

Defence White Paper

The Defence White Paper earmarked a squadron of Coastal Command to be stationed in Malta in 1969, and a guided missile destroyer on permanent station in the Mediterranean from 1970. In addition to the reduction of 17 major units by April 1970, a further 9 major units were to be disbandment by Sept 1972.

To be disbanded were: one Royal Army Corps Regiment, one field squadron and two field support squadrons Royal Engineers, 2nd/Scots Guards, 1st/Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders, 4th/The Royal Anglian Regiment, 3rd/The Royal Green Jackets while the Gloucestershire Regiment was to amalgamate with the Royal Hampshire Regiment.

Earthquake In Sicily

On 15 Jan 1968, an earthquake destroyed the town of Montevago in the west of Sicily. The Royal Navy sent 4 minesweepers and a support vessel from Malta to Trapani in support of disaster relief. Five RN surgeons worked in camps outside Montevago.