Regiments of the Malta Garrison
The 17th (Leicestershire) Regiment of Foot

search maltaramc

The 17th (Leicestershire) Regiment of Foot


The 17th Foot was raised in 1688 as Colonel Solomon Richard's Regiment of Foot.

It was numbered 17th in 1751, to which the title Leicestershire was added in 1782.

On 1 July 1881, it became The Leicestershire Regiment.

In 1946, the regiment was given its Royal prefix to become The Royal Leicestershire Regiment.

In 1964 The Royal Leicestershire became the 4th (Leicestershire) Royal Anglian Regiment. In 1968, it dropped the county title to become the 4th Royal Anglian Regiment. The regiment was disbanded in 1975.

The 1st/17th (Leicestershire) Regiment of Foot

1855 17th (Leicestershire)

The following were buried in 1855:

1856 17th (Leicestershire)

Jan 1856 The 1st/17th arrived from England.

The 2nd/The Royal Leicestershire Regiment

1919 2nd/Royal Leicestershire

1919 The 2nd battalion was kept in quarantine on troop ships.